January 25, 2022

News

News Network

Senior State Department Officials Previewing Secretary Pompeo’s Travel to Germany, Senegal, Angola, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia, and Oman

29 min read

Office of the Spokesperson

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Good afternoon, everybody.  Great to have all of you on the phone again for another trip with Secretary Pompeo.  This call is, of course, about our upcoming travel to Germany, Africa, and the Middle East.  For your reference purposes only and not for reporting, we are joined today by , who will discuss our objectives for the stops in Africa.  From this point forward, should be referred to as Senior State Department Official One.

Also joining us today is , who is available to answer your questions about the Middle East portion of the trip.  From this point forward, he will be referred to as Senior State Department Official Two.

I will be here to answer any questions that you have on the Secretary’s stop in Munich, Germany for the Munich Security Conference.  You can refer to me as Senior State Department Official Three.  Although if you have a question about Munich, you have to ask it at the beginning, because I have to leave the briefing a little early, and is next to me and will be taking over.

We are able to ask a limited number of questions on this call.  So for the purposes of efficiency, we ask you – we ask that you queue up now for questions by pressing 1 then 0 rather than at the end of the opening statements.  Again, this call is on background.  The contents are embargoed until the conclusion of the call.

I will now turn it over to Senior State Department Official One, who will begin our call with opening remarks, and after a brief pause, we’ll move on to your questions.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  Thank you very much.  Good afternoon, good night, wherever you guys are, from Washington.  I am absolutely delighted that this trip is coming up, that the Secretary will be visiting three sub-Saharan African countries between February 15th and 19th.  Some of the overarching themes that we were looking at here – first of all, of course, is Africa’s youth bulge.  It is the youngest continent.  As we know, Africa’s population will be doubling between now and 2050, and we want to absolutely empower that youth and make sure that they are a force for dynamic growth and economic empowerment and better governance in the world.

Another theme is economic growth, trade and investment with the continent.  The overall economic growth rates in Africa are some of the highest in the world, and the three countries where the Secretary will be going are especially standouts in that regards.  Another one is that the countries that the Secretary will be visiting contribute to the stability of their region.  Unfortunately, we all know about the instability and absolutely some of the terrorist threats on the continent, but these three countries are major contributors to regional stability.  Also, the countries are benefiting from dynamic leadership.  In each of the countries, we can point to examples where the leaders involved have been making some really positive achievements.  Also, as you will note, amongst the countries we do have one Francophone, one Lusophone, and if we can give a language to Ethiopia that is aside from Amharic or Oromia or one of the Ethiopian languages, which would be English, which is a working language there.  And of course, obviously, in Ethiopia the Secretary will also be engaging with the African Union.  If there’s one thing we can say about Addis Ababa, it is that in addition to being the capital of Ethiopia, it is in also many respects the capital of Africa.

So with that, I will be happy to stop, and we can talk in greater detail about any of the specific countries, purposes, common themes, anything like that that you all would like to address.  Over.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Thanks so much.  So had to step out for a quick second; he will be back to answer questions.  I am going to do a quick briefing on the Middle East part of our trip until he gets back.

So for the last leg of Secretary Pompeo’s trip, he will travel to Saudi Arabia and Oman.  In Riyadh, he will meet with senior Saudi leadership to discuss bilateral and regional issues of mutual concern.  They will discuss the Iranian regime’s continued destabilizing influence in the region.  Regarding Yemen, they will discuss their concerns about the escalation of violence there, the need to return to a UN-led peace process, and the urgent humanitarian concerns in Houthi-controlled areas.  They will also discuss human rights and consular issues related to Saudi Arabia.  The Secretary will also have an opportunity to meet with the diplomatic community and their families while in Riyadh to thank them for their service.

Lastly, the Secretary will travel to Muscat, Oman.  He will express his condolences on the death of Sultan Qaboos bin Said in person, and will meet with the new sultan, Haitham bin Tarik.  This is an opportunity for the Secretary to underscore the United States steadfast partnership with Oman, and our desire to continue our strong bilateral cooperation.  The Secretary will also meet with the American embassy community in Oman as well.

And, as I said earlier at the beginning of the call, if you have questions, you can press 1 and then 0 to get in the queue.

OPERATOR:  Ladies and gentlemen, if you would like to ask a question, once again, please press 1 then 0.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Okay.  Let’s start with Matt Lee from the Associated Press.

OPERATOR:  Matthew Lee, your line is now open.  Please, go ahead.

QUESTION:  (Inaudible.)  I have a question for both of you.  Senior Official Three first, since you have to go, do you have any more – any of the highlights of the Munich – of the Secretary’s participation in the security conference, any speaking?  I understand Saturday, Saturday morning, maybe?

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Yeah.

QUESTION:  And any confirmed bilats yet or multilat meetings, possibly with Secretary Esper, who will also be there?

And then Senior Official – oh, wait, now I’m – Senior Official One, I guess, on Africa —

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  Africa.

QUESTION:  Well, you got it all confused.  Senior Official One, given the Secretary’s weekend speech about the perils of China, his message which has been pretty constant throughout Europe and elsewhere about China, I’m wondering about the Angola stop, which is kind of like a little – an outpost – Chinese – Chinese outpost where they’ve really kind of taken over.  How big of an issue do you expect him to make of that?  Thank you.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Okay.  So quickly on Munich, we will get all of you in the bullpen all of the details there.  He is, as of now, speaking – the Secretary’s speaking on Saturday – excuse me, on Friday morning before we head out on our Africa stops.  Is it Friday morning or – yes, sorry, I’m getting my days confused.

There are a number of bilats.  A lot of them will be with Esper, a lot of them will be with members of Congress that are there.  So I don’t have anything to confirm yet, but Matt, the last I – we can talk as we get closer, but the last I checked, there was probably at least 10 meetings that we had on the books there.  So we will have readouts for all of those.  You can – I think the Munich Security Conference posts online all of the senior officials coming.  So he’ll be meeting with a number of his counterparts.

We’re working on the speech now.  We’ll make sure that all of you in our bullpen have an embargoed copy of that speech.  It is the Secretary’s first time attending the Munich Security Conference as Secretary of State.  He’s been there in the past, but never as Secretary of State, so I think that this is a really good opportunity for him to talk to our allies and to the transatlantic alliance about how the Trump administration views that relationship going forward.

Now I’ll turn it over to our senior official.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  Yeah.  As you guys know, China in Africa is one of the major themes, and we’ve had a number of discussions on that.  With this trip more so, the Secretary is going to be really promoting U.S. engagement with these African countries, and why the U.S. is a phenomenal partner for Africa.

Angola specifically, first of all, we wanted to really congratulate President Lourenco for his economic and political reforms, his extremely strong anti-corruption efforts, and his very strong regional leadership.  If people will remember when Tshisekedi was elected president of the Congo, DRC, his very first trip out was to see President Lourenco in Angola, and President Lourenco just made some remarkable, remarkable achievements in his time there.

And absolutely, we want to expand our economic ties with Angola.  Angola offers tremendous promise in a number of areas, and again, as you all know, for the Africa bureau, our number one goal is dramatically increasing U.S. trade and investment, and that’s what we’re there for.  Over.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Okay.  Let’s go to Annika Hammerschlag from Voice of America.

OPERATOR:  Annika Hammerschlag, your line is now open.

QUESTION:  Hi, can you hear me?

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL THREE:  Yes.

QUESTION:  Hi.  I was wondering if you’re going to elaborate – Senior State Department Official One can elaborate more on the Secretary’s schedule in Senegal, and why he’s going there, what he’s hoping to gain from his meeting with Macky Sall.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  Sure, absolutely.  Well, as you guys probably know, the United States has – this year, we have 60 years of relations with Senegal.  We have very strong shared democratic values.  We see some tremendous bilateral economic opportunities.  Senegal is an extremely strong security partner for the United States.  Especially with the very serious stability, terrorism, conflict problems going on in that region, Senegal is an absolute bulwark.  It’s one of the states there that exports stability instead of instability.  Also, Senegalese society is very tolerant.  So in many respects, Senegal is an example for, I’d say, the entire continent, and we want to further develop our partnership with Senegal.

If you look at the map of Africa and the map of North America, Dakar is one of the closest points, and the Senegalese very much would like to take advantage of that.  In Senegal, in addition to, obviously, meeting with Senegalese officials – and this is pretty well the pattern for each of these three countries.   In addition to meeting with Senegalese officials, the Secretary will be meeting with business leaders, again, to discuss the business environment, expanding trade and investment, as always with the U.S. embassy staff to thank our people for the tremendous work that they do, for YALI, Young African Leaders Initiative alumni, focus on women’s empowerment, and also will be doing a media event.  Over.

MODERATOR:  Okay, next question.  Let’s go to the line of Shaun Tandon from AFP.

QUESTION:  My question is also for senior official number one.  I was wondering if you could talk a little bit more about the security aspects in Africa.  I mean, there’s also been talk, as you know, in the Pentagon of a drawdown militarily of the United States in Africa.  Is there going to be any message about Africans doing more for themselves or more about cooperation on the security front?  Any talk about what to do in the Sahel?

And if I could add on the Ethiopia stop, how much, if any, do you think there’ll be discussion of the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam?  With the talks that have gone here in Washington, is this an effort – is this an opportunity for the Secretary perhaps to push that across the finish line, or do you not see that coming up very much?  Thank you.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  On the second question, hopefully, that situation is close to resolution with the discussions here in Washington, so we’ll see what the status is by the time the Secretary gets there.  I mean, what I can say about that is we have two very strong friends who are involved in that.  The United States wants them to come to resolution.  And now, more and more the third participant is also a U.S. friend with the changes that have gone on in Sudan, so hopefully – let’s keep our fingers crossed and remain very optimistic.

On the security aspect, all three – as I mentioned, all three of these countries are key because they’re very strong security partners, one, or they’re very involved in promoting stability and exporting stability in their regions.  Specifically on the Sahel, as you all know, there is a review going on and any specific information regarding that review should go to the Department of Defense.  But I can tell you that from the U.S. State Department’s point of view, an awful lot of the security programs that we conduct in the Sahel are actually paid for by U.S. State Department funds.  We absolutely plan to continue those programs.  Our embassies are very much energized and involved diplomatically.

And I guess as some of you know, Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs Ambassador David Hale is currently in the Sahel visiting a number of states there, conducting meetings with some of the regional leaders.  So we are very focused on the Sahel.  We are very focused on African peace and stability, and our energy level will continue to be very high.  Over.

MODERATOR:  Okay.  For our next question, can we go to the line of Lara Jakes.

OPERATOR:  Lara Jakes, your line is now open.

QUESTION:  Hi, everyone.  Senior State Department Official One, you didn’t mention anything about South Sudan, and so I’m wondering while the Secretary is in Addis, which has been a place where South Sudan has been a place for peace talks and meetings, I’m wondering to what extent this will be addressed.  Specifically, has there been any movement in this process since the U.S. appointed a new envoy and since the sanctions were levied last month?  Thank you.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  As you guys probably know, I was in South Sudan just, I think, like 10 days ago.  Yes, Ambassador Symington is now engaged directly in the region.  I think he was just in Addis yesterday, sent in some interesting reports.  We’ll see where that goes.  We’re looking at the February 22 deadline, keeping our fingers crossed, hopefully, that the leaders involved will be able to put aside their differences and move forward on forming the transitional unity government which everybody wants.

As far as the Secretary’s discussions will go, obviously, when he’s in Ethiopia and he will be meeting with the senior leadership, they will be discussing regional issues.  But this trip is more focused on expanding U.S. ties, opportunities, economic opportunities.  So the South Sudan part is not the central piece because, as you guys know, dealing with an issue like South Sudan, that needs constant ongoing attention, and this is much a larger-picture visit.  Over.

MODERATOR:  Hey, I just want to let everybody know that Senior State Department Official Two is here if you have questions on our stops in the Middle East.  And let’s go to Conor Finnegan for the next question.

OPERATOR:  Your line is open.

QUESTION:  Hi.  This is for official number one as well.  I have a couple questions on Sudan.

First, the Secretary had a call recently with General Burhan and invited him to Washington.  The readout, though, didn’t make a mention of the country’s transition to democracy.  So I’m just wondering if you can reiterate the support of the administration for that transition, for Prime Minister Hamdok, and whether or not that will be a part of this trip as well.

But on the invitation specifically, does it send the wrong message to invite General Burhan after the Secretary did not meet the prime minister here in Washington in December?

And then finally, General Burhan also said that his recent meeting with Israeli Prime Minister Netanyahu will help Sudan be de-listed from the state sponsors of terrorism list.  I’m just wondering if that is true, if that was a message that the Secretary gave him.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  On the de-listing, obviously, that is a process on itself.  That is going to play itself out.  As I have said many times, it is not flipping a light switch.  It is definitely a process.  Everybody wants it to move forward as quickly as possible.  And that’s as much as I’ll say on that.

As far as meetings go, obviously, there are still to be some meetings in the future.  Meetings in the past are not by themselves limiting, so stay tuned as to potential future meetings.

Absolutely, the United States of America continues to support the transition process and the civilian-led transitional government.  There are currently two parts to the government.  I was also recently just in Khartoum.  I was there, I think, about 10 days ago.  And one of the aspects of the visit which for me was very optimistic that, as opposed to when I was there last year when there was a considerable distrust between the different parts of the government, this time there was really a sense that both Prime Minister Hamdok and General Burhan saw their relationship as a partnership with each of them playing key roles.

So to answer your question, yes, the United States of America continues to very strongly support the transition and to support the civilian part of the government.  They each have different responsibilities.  And as far as meetings go, we’ll just see what happens in the future.  Over.

MODERATOR:  Okay.  For our next question, maybe a Middle East question, and we’ll go to the line of Kim Dozier, please.

OPERATOR:  Kim Dozier, your line is open.

QUESTION:  Thank you for doing this.  I wanted to ask a question of the official looking at Gulf things.  When you make the stop in Saudi Arabia, will you be bringing up aspects of reform, including the Saudi textbooks, as IMPACT-SE just did a review of the 2019 curriculum and found it still continues – includes things like calling Jews monkeys and warning against close relationships, friendships, with Westerners?  Thanks.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL TWO:  Yes, thank you.  Certainly, reform issues, human rights, will definitely be part of the conversation that we have with the Saudis in Riyadh.  The textbook issue is something that we’ve been working on for years.  We know it’s not perfect.  We know there is still room for improvement.  So I can’t tell you whether that specific issue will come up.  There are other things that we want to be sure that get discussed.  But what I can assure you of is that that issue is on our radar screen and ripe for further improvement.  Over.

MODERATOR:  Okay.  For our next question, let’s go to the line of Jennifer Hansler from CNN.

OPERATOR:  Your line is now open.

QUESTION:  Hi, thanks for doing this call.  Senior Official Two, I was wondering if you could comment on reports that the Secretary is hoping to engineer a meeting between Crown Prince MBS and Prime Minister Netanyahu.  And if so, will those discussions be brought up in his Riyadh stop?

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL TWO:  Certainly, the issue of Israel’s reintegration in the region is something that the administration is focused on, and you’ve been able to see the ways in which that has taken place.  But on this particular issue, I don’t have anything I can share with you at this point.

MODERATOR:  Okay, next question.  Let’s go to Jack Robinson from Fox.

OPERATOR:  Your line is now open.

QUESTION:  To Senior Official Number Two, in the Middle East part of the trip, to what extent will the President’s and the administration’s new plan on Israel and Palestine be mentioned?

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL TWO:  Yeah, I’m sure this will be a topic.  You know the President unveiled it just here in the last 10 days.  It’s a very current issue.  The Saudis have a role to play, and so I can – I am quite certain that the Secretary will want to discuss the way forward with the Saudis.

MODERATOR:  Okay, I think we have time for one more question.  Let’s go to the line of Joyce Karam from The National newspaper.

OPERATOR:  Joyce, your line is now open.

QUESTION:  Thank you for doing this.  Now, I have two questions.

On the Africa side, I mean, given that we just saw the travel restrictions from the Trump administration, are you at all concerned that this will sort of muddy the waters, especially with countries like Sudan?

And on the trip to Saudi, the Saudi foreign minister will be meeting Pompeo on – Secretary Pompeo on Wednesday here in D.C.  Is this also Yemen-related?  And what are you hoping to achieve on Yemen?

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL ONE:  Okay, on my side of it, on the visa limitations, I don’t believe so, because, for example, we just had the binational dialogue with Nigeria this past week, and the Nigerian foreign minister was here, very much involved in the visa issues.  And we all agreed as to the reasons that we had to do that and what we can do fairly quickly to overcome that, and we all agreed that Nigeria has – for example, had already done considerable amount of work for that.  And all the other countries involved, they know what the deficiencies are, what we need to do to feel more secure in how they handle passports, and then hopefully that they can be ended fairly quickly.  Over.

SENIOR STATE DEPARTMENT OFFICIAL TWO:  On the Yemen question, the Saudi foreign minister will be here on Wednesday, will see the Secretary.  Yemen will feature prominently in their discussion as it will in the Secretary’s conversations in Riyadh.  There has been a de-escalation effort underway here for a couple of weeks.  It’s been sorely tested by renewed fighting on the ground inside Yemen.  And we’re very keen to see the fighting brought down to a more acceptable level for humanitarian supplies to be able to continue to flow freely through the country, despite some very aggressive limitations and obstruction that the Houthis are putting on aid groups right now.  So – and then moving the process back towards a real – a genuine political dialogue is what we are aiming for.

MODERATOR:  Super.  Thanks, everybody, for your time, for joining the call today.  And thanks to our presenters for sharing their insights.  This concludes the call, and as such, the contents – or the embargo on the contents is lifted.  Thank you.

 

News Network

  • Deputy Assistant Attorney General and Counselor for International Affairs Bruce C. Swartz Statement Before the Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control
    In Crime News
    Chairman Whitehouse, Co-Chairman Grassley, and distinguished members of the Senate Caucus on International Narcotics Control, thank you for this opportunity to testify on behalf of the Department of Justice. The topic of today’s hearing – the nexus between the illicit narcotics trade and corruption – is one of central importance to the Department of Justice.
    [Read More…]
  • Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken Remarks at a Service of Remembrance for George Pratt Shultz
    In Crime Control and Security News
    Antony J. Blinken, [Read More…]
  • Servicemember Rights: Mandatory Arbitration Clauses Have Affected Some Employment and Consumer Claims but the Extent of Their Effects is Unknown
    In U.S GAO News
    Mandatory arbitration clauses in civilian employment contracts and consumer agreements have prevented servicemembers from resolving certain claims in court under two laws that offer protections: the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994, as amended (USERRA), and the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, as amended (SCRA) (see figure). Some courts have held that claims involving mandatory arbitration clauses must be resolved with arbitrators in private proceedings rather than in court. Although we reviewed federal court cases that upheld the enforceability of these clauses, Department of Justice (DOJ) officials said mandatory arbitration clauses have not prevented DOJ from initiating lawsuits against employers and other businesses under USERRA or SCRA. However, DOJ officials noted that these clauses could affect their ability to pursue USERRA claims against private employers on behalf of servicemembers. Servicemembers may also seek administrative assistance from federal agencies, and mandatory arbitration clauses have not prevented agencies from providing this assistance. For example, officials from DOJ, as well as the Departments of Defense (DOD) and Labor (DOL), told us they can often informally resolve claims for servicemembers by explaining servicemember rights to employers and businesses. Examples of Employment and Consumer Protections for Servicemembers Note: USERRA generally provides protections for individuals who voluntarily or involuntarily leave civilian employment to perform service in the uniformed services. SCRA generally provides protections for servicemembers on active duty, including reservists and members of the National Guard and Coast Guard called to active duty. Data needed to determine the prevalence of mandatory arbitration clauses and their effect on the outcomes of servicemembers' employment and consumer claims under USERRA and SCRA are insufficient or do not exist. Officials from DOD, DOL, and DOJ told us their data systems are not set up to track these clauses. Further, no data exist for claims settled without litigation or abandoned by servicemembers. Finally, data on arbitrations are limited because they are often private proceedings that the parties involved agree to keep confidential. Servicemembers are among millions of Americans who enter into contracts or agreements with mandatory arbitration clauses. For example, these provisions may be included in the contracts servicemembers sign when they enter the civilian workforce, obtain a car loan, or lease an apartment. These contracts generally require disputes to be resolved in private proceedings with arbitrators rather than in court. Due to concerns these clauses may not afford servicemembers certain employment and consumer rights, Congress included a provision in the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020 for GAO to study their effects on servicemembers' ability to file claims under USERRA and SCRA. This report examines (1) the effect mandatory arbitration has on servicemembers' ability to file claims and obtain relief for violations of USERRA and SCRA, and (2) the extent to which data are available to determine the prevalence of mandatory arbitration clauses and their effect on servicemember claims. GAO reviewed federal laws, court cases, and regulations, as well as agency documents, academic and industry research, and articles on the claims process. GAO interviewed officials from DOD, DOL, DOJ, and other agencies, academic researchers, and a range of stakeholders representing servicemembers, businesses, attorneys, and arbitration firms. GAO also identified and evaluated potential sources of data on servicemembers' employment and consumer claims collected by federal agencies and the firms that administer arbitrations or maintained in court records. For more information, contact Kris T. Nguyen at (202) 512-7215 or NguyenTT@gao.gov.
    [Read More…]
  • Federal Contractor Agrees to Pay $18.98 Million for Alleged False Claims Act Caused by Overcharges and Unqualified Labor
    In Crime News
    Cognosante LLC has agreed to pay the United States $18,987,789 to resolve allegations that it violated the False Claims Act by using unqualified labor and overcharging the United States for services provided to government agencies under two General Services Administration (GSA) contracts, the Justice Department announced today.  Cognosante, which is headquartered in Falls Church, Virginia, provides health care and IT services and solutions to federal agencies.   
    [Read More…]
  • Texan sentenced for attempting to smuggle over 70 people in one trailer
    In Justice News
    A 24-year-old Corpus [Read More…]
  • D.C. Tax Return Preparer Sentenced to Prison for Preparing False Tax Return
    In Crime News
    A D.C. tax return preparer was sentenced to 24 months in prison today following her guilty plea in February 2020 for aiding and assisting in the preparation of a false tax return, announced Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Richard E. Zuckerman of the Justice Department’s Tax Division.
    [Read More…]
  • Secretary Antony J. Blinken and International Organization for Migration Director General Antonio Vitorino Before Their Meeting
    In Crime Control and Security News
    Antony J. Blinken, [Read More…]
  • Broiler Chicken Producer Indicted for Price Fixing and Bid Rigging
    In Crime News
    A federal grand jury in Denver, Colorado, returned an indictment charging Norman W. Fries Inc., dba Claxton Poultry Farms (Claxton), headquartered in Claxton, Georgia, with participating in a nationwide conspiracy to fix prices and rig bids for broiler chicken products.
    [Read More…]
  • Nuclear Triad: DOD and DOE Face Challenges Mitigating Risks to U.S. Deterrence Efforts
    In U.S GAO News
    What GAO Found The Department of Defense (DOD) plans to replace or modernize existing triad platforms including submarines, intercontinental ballistic missiles, and bomber aircraft, as well as many of the nuclear command, control, and communication systems that facilitate control of them (see below). The Department of Energy (DOE) plans to modernize its nuclear infrastructure to life extend and produce warheads and bombs. DOD will be challenged to meet some U.S. Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM) operational needs with existing triad systems, shown below, through the end of their service lives. DOD must manage shortfalls in quantities of systems that it can field and capability limitations that reduce effectiveness of these systems. For example, the Navy will have to carefully manage resources to meet USSTRATCOM's operational requirements for the Ohio class submarine. Further, DOE faces a long-term sustainment challenge with one of its bombs, the B83-1. Existing Nuclear Triad Platforms DOD and DOE are working to replace triad systems nearing retirement, but these replacement programs face schedule risks that could exacerbate challenges with existing triad systems. Replacement programs have risk factors that include concurrency between phases of acquisition programs from development through production, immature technologies, and limited schedule margin. For example, The Ground Based Strategic Deterrent program includes limited schedule margin for testing, and if it fails a major test event it would likely delay initial fielding. The schedules for DOE's life extension programs are highly dependent on the availability of suitable facilities to manufacture, assemble, and assess bomb and warhead components. However, many DOE facilities needed for these efforts are outdated or obsolete, as more than half of DOE's facilities are over 40 years old. DOD and DOE have limited ability to mitigate risks to the efficacy of the nuclear deterrent with their current strategy, and are beginning to consider alternatives. Why GAO Did This Study The 2018 Nuclear Posture Review indicates that DOD's highest priority is the nuclear deterrent, made up of sea, land, and air legs—referred to as the nuclear triad. DOD has reported that due to prior delays and challenges with aging nuclear triad systems, there is little to no margin for delaying replacement systems without incurring risk to the nuclear deterrent. Similarly, DOE faces a demanding schedule for infrastructure projects and programs for the life extension and production of warheads and bombs. In this report, GAO examines (1) the challenges DOD and DOE face in meeting operational needs with existing triad systems; (2) the extent to which DOD and DOE triad acquisition programs face schedule risks, and the implications of delays; and (3) whether DOD and DOE have strategies to mitigate risks to the nuclear deterrent, including acquisition delays. To do this work, GAO analyzed DOD and DOE documentation, interviewed officials, and leveraged GAO work on acquisition best practices, triad systems, and the nuclear enterprise. This is an unclassified version of a classified report we issued in June 2020, and specific classified information has been removed.
    [Read More…]
  • Priority Open Recommendations: U.S. Department of Agriculture
    In U.S GAO News
    What GAO Found In April 2020, GAO identified 12 priority recommendations for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). Since then, USDA has implemented two of those recommendations. The department publicized information on state agencies’ use of data matching to reduce recipient fraud. USDA also ensured its workforce data are more reliable. In July 2021, GAO identified one additional priority recommendation for USDA, bringing the total number to 11. These recommendations involve the following areas: protecting the safety of the food supply. reducing improper payments. strengthening protections for wage earners. improving oversight of federal assistance and awards. improving cybersecurity. USDA’s continued attention to these issues could lead to significant improvements in government operations. Why GAO Did This Study Priority open recommendations are the GAO recommendations that warrant priority attention from heads of key departments or agencies because their implementation could save large amounts of money; improve congressional and/or executive branch decision-making on major issues; eliminate mismanagement, fraud, and abuse; or ensure that programs comply with laws and funds are legally spent, among other benefits. Since 2015, GAO has sent letters to selected agencies to highlight the importance of implementing such recommendations. For more information, contact Mark Gaffigan at (202) 512-3841 or gaffiganm@gao.gov.  
    [Read More…]
  • Department Press Briefing – August 2, 2021
    In Crime Control and Security News
    Ned Price, Department [Read More…]
  • As COVID-19 Cases Fall, Juries Get Back to Work
    In U.S Courts
    As coronavirus (COVID-19) case totals continue to decline in the United States, federal courts are rapidly expanding the number of jury trials and other in-person proceedings.
    [Read More…]
  • Zambia Travel Advisory
    In Travel
    Reconsider travel to [Read More…]
  • Appointment of Ambassador Stuart E. Eizenstat as Special Adviser on Holocaust Issues
    In Crime Control and Security News
    Office of the [Read More…]
  • Financial Audit: Office of Financial Stability’s (Troubled Asset Relief Program) FY 2021 and FY 2020 Financial Statements
    In U.S GAO News
    What GAO Found GAO found (1) the Office of Financial Stability's (OFS) financial statements for the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) as of and for the fiscal years ended September 30, 2021, and 2020, are presented fairly, in all material respects, in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles; (2) OFS maintained, in all material respects, effective internal control over financial reporting for TARP as of September 30, 2021; and (3) no reportable noncompliance for fiscal year 2021 with provisions of applicable laws, regulations, contracts, and grant agreements GAO tested. In commenting on a draft of this report, OFS stated that it is proud to receive an unmodified opinion on its financial statements and its internal control over financial reporting. OFS also stated that it is committed to maintaining the high standards and transparency reflected in these audit results. Why GAO Did This Study The Emergency Economic Stabilization Act of 2008 (EESA) that authorized TARP on October 3, 2008, includes a provision for TARP, which is implemented by OFS, to annually prepare and submit to Congress and the public audited fiscal year financial statements that are prepared in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles. EESA further states that GAO shall audit TARP's financial statements annually. For more information, contact Cheryl E. Clark at (202) 512-3406 or clarkce@gao.gov.
    [Read More…]
  • DOJ and HHS Issue Guidance on ‘Long COVID’ and Disability Rights Under the ADA, Section 504, and Section 1557
    In Crime News
    Today, as we commemorate the 31st anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) are jointly publishing guidance on how “long COVID” can be a disability under the ADA, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Section 1557 of the Affordable Care Act. The guidance is on the DOJ website at https://www.ada.gov/long_covid_joint_guidance.pdf - PDF and on the HHS website at https://www.hhs.gov/civil-rights/for-providers/civil-rights-covid19/index.html.
    [Read More…]
  • Global Health Security: USAID and CDC Funding, Activities, and Assessments of Countries’ Capacities to Address Infectious Disease Threats before COVID-19 Onset
    In U.S GAO News
    Pour la version française de cette page, voir GAO-21-484. What GAO Found As of March 31, 2020, the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) had obligated a combined total of more than $1.2 billion and disbursed about $1 billion for global health security (GHS) activities, using funds appropriated in fiscal years 2015 through 2019. USAID and CDC supported activities to help build countries' capacities in 11 technical areas related to addressing infectious disease threats. The obligated funding supported GHS activities in at least 34 countries, including 25 identified as Global Health Security Agenda (GHSA) partner countries. U.S.-Supported Activities in Ethiopia to Strengthen Global Health Security U.S. officials' assessments of 17 GHSA partner countries' capacities to address infectious disease threats showed that at the end of fiscal year 2019, most countries had some capacity in each of the 11 technical areas but faced various challenges. U.S. interagency country teams produce biannual capacity assessments that USAID and CDC headquarters officials use to track the countries' progress. According to fiscal year 2019 assessment reports, 14 countries had developed or demonstrated capacity in most technical areas. In addition, the reports showed the majority of capacities in each country had remained stable or increased since 2016 and 2017. The technical area antimicrobial resistance showed the largest numbers of capacity increases—for example, in the development of surveillance systems. GAO's analysis of the progress reports found the most common challenges to developing GHS capacity were weaknesses in government institutions, constrained resources, and insufficient human capital. According to agency officials, some challenges can be overcome with additional U.S. government funding, technical support, or diplomatic efforts, but many other challenges remain outside the U.S. government's control. This is a public version of a sensitive report that GAO issued in February 2021. Information that USAID and CDC deemed sensitive has been omitted. Why GAO Did This Study The outbreak of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) in December 2019 demonstrated that infectious diseases can lead to catastrophic loss of life and sustained damage to the global economy. USAID and CDC have led U.S. efforts to strengthen GHS—that is, global capacity to prepare for, detect, and respond to infectious disease threats and to reduce or prevent their spread across borders. These efforts include work related to the multilateral GHSA initiative, which aims to accelerate progress toward compliance with international health regulations and other agreements. House Report 114-693 contained a provision for GAO to review the use of GHS funds. In this report, GAO examines, for the 5 fiscal years before the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic, (1) the status of USAID's and CDC's GHS funding and activities and (2) U.S. agencies' assessments, at the end of fiscal year 2019, of GHSA partner countries' capacities to address infectious disease threats and of challenges these countries faced in building capacity. GAO analyzed agency, interagency, and international organization documents. GAO also interviewed agency officials in Washington, D.C., and Atlanta, Georgia, and in Ethiopia, Indonesia, Senegal, and Vietnam. GAO selected these four countries on the basis of factors such as the presence of staff from multiple U.S. agencies. In addition, GAO analyzed interagency assessments of countries' capacities to address infectious disease threats in fiscal year 2019 and compared them with baseline assessments from 2016 and 2017. For more information, contact David Gootnick at (202) 512-3149 or gootnickd@gao.gov.
    [Read More…]
  • Hospice Administrator Sentenced for Role in Hospice Fraud Scheme
    In Crime News
    The administrator of a Southern California hospice was sentenced Thursday to 30 months in prison for his role in a multimillion dollar hospice fraud scheme.
    [Read More…]
  • Secretary Blinken’s Meeting with Domestic Refugee Resettlement Agencies
    In Crime Control and Security News
    Office of the [Read More…]
  • Associate Deputy Attorney General Sujit Raman Delivers Remarks at the Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS)/Police Executive Research Forum (PERF)  Facial Recognition Technology Forum
    In Crime News
    As the Nation’s primary federal law enforcement agency, the U.S. Department of Justice enforces and defends the laws of the United States; protects public safety against foreign and domestic threats; and provides national and international leadership in preventing and investigating crime. Technological innovation has created new opportunities for our law enforcement officers to effectively and efficiently tackle these important missions. At the same time, such innovation poses new challenges for ensuring that technology is used in a manner consistent with our laws and our values—and equally important, with the support and trust of the American people.
    [Read More…]

Crime

Network News © 2005 Area.Control.Network™ All rights reserved.